December 18, 2011

Bundesliga MD17 Decisions

Two remarkable decisions were made by DFB referees Guido Winkmann and Günter Perl on this, the last matchday of 2011:


video


video



For my taste, Winkmann could have even chosen the straight red card; Perl's decision is certainly the correct one, that deserves acknowledgement. However, it is hard for players who have relied on the assistant referee's flag to accept this decision. The rule is clear: the play stops as soon as the referee has whistled - and not has raised the flag.
Of course, it was a heavy mistake by the assistant referee 2; he probably could not see which player touched the return pass, whether it was a Freiburg or Dortmund player. 
I claim more responsibility for assistant referees, i.e., that a raised flag is equal to a referee's whistle. If this does not happen, such situations will always appear every now and then.

The full teams were:
Bayern München 3-0 1. FC Köln
Referee: Guido Winkmann (Kerken)
Assistant Referees: Dirk Margenberg, Detlef Scheppe
4th Official: Thorsten Schriever

SC Freiburg 1-4 Borussia Dortmund
Referee: Günter Perl (München)
Assistant Referees: Guido Kleve, Michael Emmer
4th Official: Robert Hartmann


What do you think of these situations?

5 Comments:

  1. About Ribery: in both situations, he could have reached the straight red card. Winkmann seemed too lenient with him.

    About Perl: good decision, sometimes the problem is that some players believe that assistant referees raidsed flags are final and effective decisions, but this is (obviously) wrong. The referee has always the last judgment: if he is able to understand that his assistant made a wrong call, we have to congratulate him.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi mate

    Just recently found this gem of a blog.

    Tell me, though I accept that it was a back pass in the 2nd clip, doesnt the deflection (how can we be sure that he wasnt deftly flicking it on) from the Dortmund player (yellow) imply that the assistant was indeed correct to flag?

    Thanks in advance
    N

    ReplyDelete
  3. About Perl: His decision was wrong. After the back pass the ball got a deflection from Dortmund player and therefore it was offside.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I agree with the last comment. There was a deflection from Dortmund player after the back pass, so the last player who touched the ball was an attacker. Remember law 11: a player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his team, he is, in the opinion of the referee, involve in active play by (interfering with the play) Of course, defender team mustn´t stop until the whistle

    ReplyDelete
  5. No, there was a deflection, yes, but it was the leg of the Freiburg player. Perhaps this does not become clear by the not 100% quality video, but it was certainly not the Dortmund player. Then it must be offside for sure.
    And this is probably the crucial point. The AR2 probably thought - like you - that it was the Dortmund player who deflected the ball, but this is wrong.

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger