September 19, 2013

Goalkeepers handling the ball twice

This week of UEFA Champions League surely offered many interesting situations to analyze - among others in Stadio Giuseppe Meazza involving AC Milan, Celtic Glasgow and German referee Wolfgang Stark's team.


In the 16th minute of play, AC Milan goalkeeper Abbiati touched the ball with his hand twice in a row without an opponent touching the ball in between:


The Laws of the Game clearly state that "an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:
• controls the ball with his hands for more than six seconds before releasing it from his possession
• touches the ball again with his hands after he has released it from his possession and before it has touched another player
• touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate
• touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate"

Wolfgang Stark therefore correctly applied this quite technical law and, what was even better, he calmly and clearly explained his decision to the players. Fourth Official Christoph Bornhorst did so, too, explaining it to the Italian coach, while Balotelli was enlightened by AAR1 Marco Fritz. Stark even tried to warn Abbiati before he touched the ball for the second time - but without success.
I don't know whether you have comparable situations having happened in other matches in mind, but basically this surely does not happen in 1 or 1000 matches.

15 Comments:

  1. Excellent awareness! Brilliant!

    I still would be disappointed not seeing Mr. Stark at World Cup. I think he deserves it by whole his and his assistants' career. So few slots and many very good referees AND humans!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I remember a similar situation, 22nd matchday in the 1.Bundesliga 2011/12, Freiburg-Bayern, Referee Peter Gagelmann. http://www.transfermarkt.de/de/sc-freiburg-fc-bayern-muenchen/index/spielbericht_1121213.html

    Unfortunately I couldn't find a video.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous19/9/13 14:48

    If politics not existed, we have 2 Germans and 2 Italians in Brazil and no Spanish man.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agree. Stark and especially Rocchi deserve to be in Brazil!

      Delete
    2. Anonymous20/9/13 10:52

      Why two italians? If there are two germans, Brych and....not Stark!
      And spanish soccer, first or two at Europe, cannot stay out of Brazil.

      Delete
  4. Yes, but correct me if I'm wrong...many times goalkeeper did the small touch with booth hands, only to put ball in front themselves with intention for wasting time and, when oponent player comes, normaly takes the ball for second time and it becomes as normal. But it is same case like here.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous19/9/13 18:29

    Did the goalkeeper "release the ball from his possession"?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous19/9/13 19:18

      Absolutely!!

      Delete
    2. Yes since possession means, in the case of a goalkeeper, having control of the ball. And Abbiati touched the ball with the hand and that's enough for controlling the ball. So he released it from his "possession".

      Delete
  6. Anonymous19/9/13 21:53

    I think this was wrong decision . Goalkeeper was prepared to made a save from celtic player therefore he goes down with knees and it was comfortable to made a save by hands. Therefore I would classified this as a save of goalkeeper and therefore it was not taking the ball for second time.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous19/9/13 22:01

    Wrong decision

    ReplyDelete
  8. No no, the first contact is to see as controlling with the hand. He has the control of the ball and uses his hand for this. That's enough. And the second contact is obvious.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Absolutely correct decision !!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Absolutely correct decision !!!

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger