The following solution is supposed to clarify the incident having occurred in the Champions League match between Zenit St. Petersburg and Pacos de Ferreira, refereed by Alberto Undiano Mallenco of Spain, that was put up for debate in this blog post.
The correct solution is:
NO deliberate handball and therefore NO penalty. The hand was in a natural position as part of resting on the ground. Referee Undiano Mallenco thus got it right.
84 % of the voters in the poll agreed with this interpretation.