November 7, 2014

Video Training: Assessing the Level of Punishment and Advantage Rule - Solutions!


The following match situations are both taken from the UEFA Champions League Matchday 3 tie between Atlético Madrid and Malmö FF and belongs to the category Advantage Rule & Assessing the Level of Punishment.

The official involved was Slovenian First Group referee Matej Jug.

You are warmly encouraged to tell us your opinion about this clip by answering the poll and/or placing a comment below reasoning why you have come to your conclusion. The solution will be posted on Monday.



Articles that might help you:
Understanding the Advantage Rule
Various posts in the Video Coaching area

Considerations you should pay attention to:
1) Was this tackle reckless or serious foul play? (Speed? Studs? Intensity? Chance to play the ball? Effect on the opponent? Degree of caring about the opponent's safety?)
2) What is the bigger advantage in this situation: Play-on or a direct free-kick?
3) Did the referee manage the Yellow Card procedure well or could he work on anything?

Poll Results:

1) "I agree with the referee: Direct free-kick and Yellow Card for reckless tackle" - 36 %
2) "Advantage and Yellow Card for the reckless tackle at the next stoppage" - 14 %
3) "Direct free-kick and Red Card for Serious Foul Play" - 48 %
4) "Advantage and Red Card for Serious Foul Play" - 2 %

Our solution:
Atlético defender #2 is going into a challenge with one stretched foot making unfair contact with Malmö attacker #24 by fully hitting his ankle using his studs with excessive force. He is clearly endangering the safety and welfare of his opponent and must be sent off with a red card.

The referee is having an ideal position concerning his visual angle. He has a good, sidewise insight into this challenge and should have identified the severity of the offense in a better way. To be fair with him though, the severity of the offence even got a bit clearer by watching it from another perspective (from the sideline). Furthermore, referees must be reminded on executing the laws of the game and protecting players at all times. It does not matter whether this tackle has been the first hard one in the game and whether a red card is the first card in the entire match. Clear red cards must be given!

An advantage following a red card offense is only possible if there is an obvious goal-scoring opportunity. This was not the case here, so that 3) "Direct free-kick and Red Card for Serious Foul Play" is the correct answer.

For the purpose of discussion, we can - for one moment - imagine that the tackle was reckless and not serious foul play, which means a yellow card. 28% of the voters, who opted for a yellow card, preferred to apply an advantage in this situation. This would not be totally wrong. However, you should keep in mind the importance of sending a clear signal to all players with your first card for a hard tackle. The benefit of controlling the situation and the match is more important than allowing a possible team benefit in this situation. Moreover, several teams have specialists for free-kicks close to the penalty area, so that free-kicks are often bigger advantages than letting play flow. 

But, as said, this does not come into question in this example, as Matej Jug should have sent off the player with a red card. In addition, referees are reminded to ensure eye-contact with players they are about to caution. This shows respect and guarantees their attention. The referee should have waited a bit more with raising his card for this purpose.

41 Comments:

  1. Anonymous7/11/14 15:03

    Advantage: in this case I don't see a real need to give it.
    Card: difficult to spot, but for me red. Most of the referees are for yellow here.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree with anonymous. Very difficult to see for the referee. After the first replay my opinion was YC. But the second replay from another angle shows the impact of the tackle on the ankle. Really endangering the safety of the opponent. Red card imo. But difficult to distinguish. And never play advantage in this kind of situation. Only ball possession and no really advantage. Keep control as referee and blow the whistle which he did in a excellent way.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Have a look here, from 1'05 on — advantage and RC...
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYSBQ4cv7hQ#t=1m5s

    ReplyDelete
  4. Italy - Albania (18/11/14)
    Alexander Harkam, Andreas Staudinger, Andreas Witschnigg (AUT)

    Slovakia - Finland (18/11/14)
    Markus Hameter, Roland Braunschmidt, Roland Riedel (AUT)

    Czech Republic U-21 - Germany U-21
    Manuel Schüttengruber, Roland Brandner, Christian Rigler (AUT)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous9/11/14 21:11

      Thank you. Very nice appointment for Harkam, who did a good job today in the Austrian Bundesliga (Rapid - Austria; Vienna Derby)

      Delete
  5. From the position of referee his decision is correct. Till I see reverse angle my decision was yellow card and free kick. After I saw the reverse angle, I would go for red. But I don't criticize the referee for this position.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous8/11/14 22:58

    Very interesting situation today in QPR - Man City. Hart kicks the ball twice from a free kick inside the penalty area before it goes to a QPR player outside the penalty are who scores. Mike Dean disallowed the goal and let Hart retake the free kick.

    GIF of the situation:

    http://gfycat.com/GeneralMeatyDungenesscrab

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Correct decision. Both touches occurred inside the penalty area, so the ball was never in play...

      Delete
    2. Anonymous9/11/14 09:43

      @ Nur:
      I don't understand your argument. The ball was in play (out of play means it crossed the sideline for example). The free-kick taker has touched the ball twice before it has been touched by a different player. In my opinion indirect free-kick for the opponents inside Hart's penalty area.

      Delete
    3. If, when a free kick is taken by the defending team from inside its own penalty area, the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area, the kick is retaken

      In other words, Hart's free kick was required to leave the box before the ball could be considered back in play - so by touching it for a second time, he prevented the ball from becoming live.

      Delete
    4. Anonymous9/11/14 13:00

      I agree on Nur. After a free kick in the penalty area, the ball has to go out of this area, before the ball is in play. In this case, the ball was never free to play, so retaking the free kick seems the correct decision to me.

      Delete
  7. Anonymous9/11/14 10:11

    the ball is in play when it is played out of the penalty area. When any player touches it before then the action is retaken (goal kick, free kick and indirect free kick).

    ReplyDelete
  8. Anonymous9/11/14 10:27

    It is a difficult case. I think that LotG don't provide a spefic solution for this situation. It is stated that on a free kick in favor of defense, the ball must leave the penalty area prior to be played by another player, otherwise the free kick must be retaken. It is also stated that in case of second touch by free kick taker, an indirect free kick must be whistled in favor of the opponents. But the two things are not reported together in this specific situation. So I'm not sure in this case.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For sure the benefit of the doubt goes to the referee then. But technically I also agree more with idfk.

      Delete
    2. 1)The ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area
      2)If the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area from a goal kick:
      • the kick is retaken
      3)If, after the ball is in play, the goalkeeper touches the ball again (except with his hands) before it has touched another player:
      • an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred

      I think, the Laws are clear in this case:
      1) does not happen, therefore the ball is not in play.
      Therefore 3) is irrelevant and 2) describes, how the game continues.

      Delete
    3. UEFA observer Ryszard Wójcik said that it was fully and only correct decision because both touches had place inside the penalty area. If it was outside the box, it should've been an idfk, but not here.

      http://m.sport.pl/pilka/1,117873,16938260,Premier_League__Sedzia_nie_uznal_dwoch_goli_Charliego.html

      Delete
    4. Indeed, the law is very clear. Except in some very specific cases (only penalty kicks and throw-ins), if the ball is not put in play properly, you have to retake the restart of play. For instance, if a kick-off is kicked backwards, what happens after is irrelevant as the ball is not in play.

      In this case, as Philippe says, the ball is not in play, so whatever happens is completely irrelevant.

      Delete
  9. Anonymous9/11/14 10:35

    The second touch in this case was not easy to be detected. One must say that Dean was good. Very often these situations are missed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Dean was too far from the incident to spot it, and his view was blocked by a couple of players. Television cameras showed AR1 John Brooks saying "double touch, double touch" as soon as Hart kicked the ball...

      Delete
  10. Anonymous9/11/14 14:34

    Makkelie injured during Eredivisie match in Leeuwarden

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Makkelie had an international match this week but he is still injured. He could be out for some days or several weeks, depending on the results of his MRI scan.

      Delete
    2. Today it's reported in the netherlands that Makkelie will be out for the rest of 2014. He suffered a knee injury and had surgery this week.

      Delete
  11. Friendly appointment:

    12/11
    Turkey - Brazil
    Ravshan Irmatov (UZB)
    Abdukhamidullo Rasulov (UZB) - Jakhongir Saidov (UZB)
    Halis Özkahya (TUR)

    ReplyDelete
  12. What about this foul for which Clément Turpin issued a straight red card?

    http://tinyurl.com/qbd54jc

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Better quality:
      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ePNIruNRiE#t=160

      Delete
    2. I'm not so sure. Its tough to tell how much contact there was. Even if there was contact on the shin, I can't see serious foul play in this case.

      Delete
  13. The ones who answered yellow card, please check this image - http://i1374.photobucket.com/albums/ag416/Edisof/vlcsnap-2014-11-10-10h32m00s225_zps1884427b.jpg

    It is a serius foul play and red card when:
    1) studs are used
    2) the tackle his made higher than the foot (ankle and above)

    ReplyDelete
  14. An excellent video for education from the Russian league. The comments can be seen below the video:

    https://vimeo.com/111399020

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I can't agree with your comment on deliberate play. it was an example of defending play and if the player was considered to be in an offside position (might be that a wrong assumption) then the call would have been correct.

      Delete
    2. Fully agree with Offside Explained... Same explanation is given by the relevant experts and officials in Russia.

      Delete
    3. Dubhe, I remember that you were already having misunderstandings in terms of deliberate play before in the past. Maybe you can check the posts on Offside Explained's website or here on the blog following the AR Education menu.
      Deliberate play - this is a definition where lawmakers don't care about whether an act by a defender was successful or made under pressure. If a defender actively goes for the ball to play it, we must consider it as a deliberate play (unless it prevents a ball from reaching the goal, which would be a deliberate save). I don't see the term "defending play" in Law 11 by the way - the Law does not care about what you described.

      Delete
  15. Question for English friend: I see that some team from Wales (Swansea and last year Cardiff) joint English team in Premier league; what about walsh referees ? I never see them appointed in premier league /
    In general, in order to support development and improvement of referees from "small" countries, I would appoint them in the neighboor important leagues: for exemple officials form San marino could be appointed in Serie B in Italy or in "low profile" matches in italian Serie A; same for officials from Andorra could be appointed in Spain, Luxemburg in France and so on. What do you think ?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ceri Richards from Wales was an assistant referee in English Premier League.

      Delete
    2. That's absolutely nothing new what you're proposing. It's already happening.

      Delete
    3. For example Alain Hamer regularly whistled in the French league. And still Dutch referees are appointed in the Belgium 2e Klasse, and Belgian referees in the Dutch Jupiler League,

      Delete
  16. Referee for friendly match in 12-14 november?

    ReplyDelete
  17. Does anyone know who was the referee observer for the last World Cup final?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. here is the match sheet http://resources.fifa.com/mm/document/tournament/competition/02/40/46/85/eng_64_0713_ger-arg_start_neutral.pdf

      the commissioner (delegate) is listed but not the referee assessor unfortunately

      Delete
  18. Sorry for the delay, today, 9 reports will be uploaded.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Friendly Spain - Germany
    Referee: Stefan Johannesson
    Fourth: Del Cerro Grande

    ReplyDelete
  20. Greece-Faroe: Rizzoli.
    What?!

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger