January 12, 2015

Asian Cup 2015 - Referee Appointments - Matches 9-12

Thank to our source Árbitro Internacional, these are the officials appointed by AFC for matches 9-12 of 2015 Asian Cup. Among others, Iranian Alireza Faghani (Iran) will take charge of his second game at the tournament.


13 January 2015, 08:00 CET
Group A, Canberra
Kuwait - Korea Republic
Referee: Alireza Faghani (Iran)
Assistant Referee 1: Reza Sokhandan (Iran)
Assistant Referee 2: Mohammadreza Abolfazl (Iran)
Fourth Official: Yudai Yamamoto (Japan)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Raham Najah Alhamaidah (Iraq)
Referee Assessor: Farkhad Abdullaev (Uzbekistan)

13 January 2015, 10:00 CET
Group A, Sydney
Oman - Australia
Referee: Ryuji Sato (Japan)
Assistant Referee 1: Toru Sagara (Japan)
Assistant Referee 2: Toshiyuki Nagi (Japan)
Fourth Official: Muhammad Taqi Jahari Bin Aljaafari (Singapore)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Jeffrey Goh Gek Pheng (Singapore)
Referee Assessor: Hany Taleb Safar (Qatar)
Blog Observer: Niclas (Germany)

14 January 2015, 08:00 CET
Group B, Melbourne
Korea DPR - Saudi Arabia
Referee: Abdullah Al Hilali (Oman)
Assistant Referee 1: Hamed Marhoun Al-Mayahi (Oman)
Assistant Referee 2: Abu Bakar Al-Amri (Oman)
Fourth Official: Ammar Ali Abdulla Jumaa Aljneibi (UA Emirates)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Akane Yagi (Japan)
Referee Assessor: John Chia (Singapore)

14 January 2015, 10:00 CET
Group B, Brisbane
China - Uzbekistan
Referee: Mohammed Abdulla Hassan Mohamed (UA Emirates)
Assistant Referee 1: Mohamed Ahmed Yousef Abdulla Alhammadi (UA Emirates)
Assistant Referee 2: Hasan Mohamed Hasan Abdulla Almahri (UA Emirates)
Fourth Official: Hettikamkanamge Perera (Sri Lanka)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Palitha Hemathunga (Sri Lanka)
Referee Assessor: Edward Lennie (Australia)

18 Comments:

  1. Anonymous13/1/15 10:37

    Take a look at the foul made by a player from Oman at 36'. Should be red card. Nothing happened until this minute, so perhaps for this reason the referee had not the courage.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Clear red card, crucial mistake, 7.9. :/

      Delete
    2. Anonymous13/1/15 22:28

      I definitley would also go for a red card! SFP

      Further I was surprised, that there was no yellow card for the holding offence, which resulted in the penalty. IMO it was unsporty because it prevented his oppenent from gaining an advangeous position as well as pulled him down to the ground!

      Delete
    3. Agree. Sato whistled a penalty, so a yellow card should follow.

      Delete
    4. Anonymous14/1/15 04:24

      I can confirm, having been present at the match, a yellow card was definitely shown for holding in the penalty sequence.

      Delete
    5. Anonymous14/1/15 17:35

      Ok, I didn't see it on the TV. Doesn't change my overall positive impression on Sato. He did a good job. 1 crucial mistake can always happen.

      Delete
  2. Anonymous13/1/15 10:49

    45'+2: very interesting situation at the end of first half. Missed offside by AR1 and then goal scored by Australia but referee prefers to give a penalty for a previous foul in the box. One sure mistake (AR1) and one bad management (missed advantage).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous13/1/15 22:19

      I totally disagree. I think the referee has done well in this situation. Awarding an advantage within the penalty instead of giving a penalty is a high risk for every referee.

      1) A penalty equals scoring for most of the time, so there's more or less no better advantage
      2) When awarding an advantage there is no chance to go back to the initial offence in terms of the restart of play, once a teammate is in CONTROL of the ball. This moment occurs before shooting and obviously before scoring. That means that if a player misses to score after an advantage within the penalty box, no penalty kick can be awarded anymore. Crucial mistake for every observer.
      3) This option was simply a way to deal with this situation almost riskless from a referees' point of view, since an advantage can be but doesn't have to be awarded!

      Delete
    2. A referee shouldn't technically apply an advantage in such circumstances. The most mature act is to wait a split second to see whether it will be a goal - if not, whistle a penalty. It is about reading and empathy for the game but also about a referee's experience. I don't blame him much for that but a small deduction should follow (-0.1 probably).

      Delete
    3. Indeed, similar like in Real-Ludogorets, a small deduction for a lack in wait-and-see-technique is absolutely necessary.

      Delete
    4. Anonymous14/1/15 17:42

      I can see your point but Wait-and-See in that situation means, that the shot on target has - because of the fast sequence - already occured. In case of a fail, a going back to the penalty kick is according to law 5 - advantage, not possible anymore...

      Delete
  3. An interesting decision in PRK vs KSA, with a penalty and DOGSO send off. Its a very clear penalty for handball, with the ball bouncing off the crossbar and then hitting the arm of the Korean defender, but I am unsure about the send off, as there were no attackers around the ball.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Some interesting scenes from Al Hilali match:

    http://www.couriermail.com.au/video/id-Y4cm9ycjpOCoYAEzpYBf57XTXG_BntSI/Saudi-Arabia-score-howler-against-North-Korea
    No deliberate handball in the action leading to 1-3.


    http://www.couriermail.com.au/video/id-9ud29ycjqjvRjMDePH5NuyK5BXieo_Ml/Saudi-Arabia-seal-the-deal-with-penalty-goal
    DOGSO (deliberate handball on the line): red card and penalty. A replay shows that the call is suggested by AR1.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Difficult to decide whether it was deliberate handling or not. No problem with that call.

      One can have doubts even with the same penalty (unnatural position of hand vs unexpected ball (no one expected the ball will bounce back from the crossbar). Whilst I can easily agree with the penalty call, I don't agree with the red card issued by the ref. It was definitely not DOGSO - ball is bouncing back and there is no opponent who could have take the ball. Yellow card is maximum.

      Delete
    2. Anonymous14/1/15 17:31

      Hi Hubert. Penalty kick for sure because hands are definitely in an unnatural position - therefore deliberate handball. Nobody except from the goalkeeper needs to have their hands over their head!

      No DOGSO because the GSO is already over with the ball hitting the post. Only definding players around and no attacker able to get immediate control of the ball. No yellow card for me, can't think of an argument for!

      Delete
    3. I agree. YC could be given for the unsporting character of the situation, but based on the Laws of the Game a YC is not even required.

      Delete
    4. Anonymous

      The referee shall take the following into consideration:
      - the movement of the hand towards the ball (not the ball towards the hand),
      - the distance between the opponent and the ball (unexpected ball),
      - position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement
      [...]

      There was a movement toward the ball but there was not a contact (hand - ball). The ball is behind the player who does not expect (it's not possible) the ball will bounce back from the crossbar. So one may call it an unexpected ball without doubts. Taking into account the unnatural position of the hand, there is a clear phrase in the quoted instructions: position of the hand does not necessarily mean that there is an infringement.

      Of course, one can give a penalty, it is an interpretation and feeling. The player wanted to act in an unsportsmanlike manner, so whistling a penalty is commonsensical.

      What about the card? FIFA shows four examples from which only two can be used in this situation:

      - attacker or defender handles the ball to gain control
      FOUL, NO MISCONDUCT

      - defender handles the ball to break up attacking play
      FOUL, MISCONDUCT (caution for unsporting behaviour)

      Source: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/afdeveloping/refereeing/law_12_fouls_misconduct_en_47379.pdf

      Delete
    5. Just to add one thing. Al-Hilali seemed to be anything but concentrated and in control of the situation he was facing. So I guess it was also AR1 who took this red card decision. In the dynamic of the situation, the mistake is therefore understandable, but of course a mistake.

      Delete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger