June 30, 2015

Women's World Cup 2015: Anna-Marie Keighley will officiate the semifinal Japan - England

Anna-Marie Keighley from New Zealand  is the referee selected by FIFA to oversee the semifinal between Japan and England at the Women's World Cup 2015. This will be her fifth match in this tournament. French Stéphanie Frappart will act as fourth official. 
2 July 2015, 01:00 CET (Edmonton)
Japan - England
Referee: Anna-Marie Keighley (NZL)
Assistant Referee 1: Sarah Walker (NZL)
Assistant Referee 2: Allyson Flynn (AUS)
Fourth Official: Stéphanie Frappart (FRA)

51 Comments:

  1. Anonymous30/6/15 17:23

    The retained refs should be
    AFC: Ri
    CAF: Neguel
    CONCACAF: Chenard, Venegas
    CONMEBOL: Di Iorio, Umpierrez
    OFC: Keighley
    UEFA: Albon, Frappart, Staubli

    ReplyDelete
  2. I hope Frappart will be in final !

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous30/6/15 23:57

      Quite unlikely IMO, as she is FO in a SF.
      I wouldn't rule her out completely, but I'd rather see Chenard, Staubli or Ri as potential candidates for the final. Here I don't necessarily express what I'd like but what seems to me more likely to happen.

      Delete
  3. Anonymous1/7/15 07:42

    Is anyone able to read De Vries blog? http://www.bloggen.be/elladevries_wwc2015/
    Apparently, the blog requires log in...

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous1/7/15 11:15

      The blog has been closed. Very likely, FIFA didn't like the informations she wrote in the past days. Also, her tournament seems to be over.

      Delete
  4. Anonymous1/7/15 20:32

    AR Sanja Rodjak Karsic (CRO) is still in Canada, so she could be a candidate for third place or final match. She is also, promoted to First Croatian Division. She is first woman ever in Croatian First divisiob.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous1/7/15 21:59

    Candidates for the final:
    AFC: Ri
    CONCACAF: Chenard,
    CONMEBOL: Umpierrez
    UEFA: Staubli

    The name is there.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Umpierrez would not be my pick based on her CAN-ENG performance. But that hasn't stopped FIFA in the past.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 12:25

      Yes yes yes, we all know about your love affair with the "McRef" Chenard. If it was up to you. You would have here waddling in all the matches.

      Delete
  7. Anonymous2/7/15 01:53

    Both correct penalties in my opinion.

    N

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 12:27

      Oh hello Massimo! I didn't know that you were here. LOL

      Delete
  8. First. Push clearly began outside PA. Not clear if it continued into PA as replay angles not ideal. AR1 must make that decision. High possibility of error.

    Second. Attacker touched but not fouled. Error.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 05:32

      Second PK was a mistake. No foul. Keighley was saved by the final score.

      Delete
  9. 2nd half nothing major. Keighley ended up in a kick and rn match. Def fatiguing Toward end.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous2/7/15 04:38

    Probably an European referee for the final between USA and Japan, and I would predict an non-European referee for the 3rd place match between Germany and England. I think it is unlikely that European referees would get both the final and 3rd place match, by looking at the history of men and women world cup.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 05:33

      Staubli or Monzul for the final.

      Delete
  11. If Albon's 2nd penalty was deemed an error, then Keighley's first penalty is very clearly incorrect as well. The contact is visibly outside the penalty area.

    As for the second penalty, in my view, the Japanese defender steps on the Englishwoman's foot (back). Correct foul and penalty in my view, and a very good eye by Keighley!

    Question re. the own goal (ouch! poor Bassett!): The AR doesn't seem to raise the flag. Did she a) not see whether the ball was over the line or not, or see the ball on the line, or b) wait for the GLT's verdict to avoid contradicting the technology, or c) instructed not to bother with that decision as GLT was being used?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 12:20

      Time to get them eyes checked?

      At no point does the Japanese player "steps on the Englishwoman's foot (back)". If you watch the play. The English player goes down like a bag of rocks after feeling the slightest of touches on her side by the Japanese player.

      Furthermore, poor pre game planning by Keighley and her crew. She should have known that the English were one of the teams that were exploiting "gamesmanship" throughout the tournament. But instead she fell for the acting job by Houghton.

      Overall an okay tournament by Keighley that will forever be marred by her 2 invented PK's in the Semi Final.

      Delete
    2. My eyes are very fine, thank you. From the angles available on TV it is very clear that the Japanese defender steps lightly on the back on the Englishwoman's foot, thereby committing a foul. At precisely 0:53 in the FIFA highlights video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzqy_viVJss), although (as you surely realised) you do not have a proper angle to see the contact.

      Delete
    3. Anonymous2/7/15 17:52

      Emil, Your remarks to AR2 are irrelevant. She was sprinting with action so do You think that she was able to stop immediately and / or signal that the goal was scored during the movement? With taking into account some reaction time she did everything well. As ball was clearly behind the line she IMO hadn't apply technique with raised flag.

      Regards.
      P.L.

      Delete
    4. The ball was not clearly over the line: proof, play continued for a few seconds and Keighley whistled several seconds later. Of course, one element I realise I completely discounted is the communication system. Still, flag signals are the basis and should be done correctly regardless of the microphone system.

      Delete
    5. Anonymous2/7/15 19:25

      It was the GLT that signalled the goal, not the AR2. She only signalled after the GLT sent the message "goal". Anyone can do that with the GLT.

      Delete
  12. Like USA's penalty, clearly outside, this time even more blatant and visible for AR1.
    The second penalty is nothing for me either, I have not found a punishable contact so far.

    Partly disappointing level of crucial decisions at this World Cup (not only at this one).

    ReplyDelete
  13. I agree with Niclas. First penalty is in my opinion AR1's fault, when the foul occurs in this position, AR must have the visual control.
    Second penalty is nothing. I would say that after some good performance, Keighley had definitely the worst one in this semifinal.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Anonymous2/7/15 10:21

    I am done!!!
    Do these women actually know what a penalty is and what a penalty isn't? These are FIFA World Cup semi finals and we get these inept performances?

    It is quite simply futile to try and comprehend how these women are able to go out onto the pitch and destroy the Laws of The Game like they have all tournament long.

    I'll leave it to you all enablers, apologists, and excuse makers(Ref Al) to try and make sense of this mess that has been the officiating at the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No excuses for this one. Both were incorrect as I stated about 2 min after the 2nd happened.

      Delete
    2. Actually, I am going to change my opinion on the first. AR1 continued running straight to goal line after foul. I have found video from her angle. Contact began 1.5 yards outside PA, contact definitively continued into PA. Hand is still clearly on attacker's back over PA line (take a still and you will clearly see that). If referees apply same criteria for pushing as holding, this decision is correct (0:29). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jFOT3qmlUJ8

      Delete
    3. Well if referees apply the same criteria for offsides where the ball comes directly from a goal-kick as where the ball comes from any other kind of pass, then an assistant will also take a correct decision if he raises his flag for offside after a ball coming directly from the goalkeeper's goal-kick... strange line of argumentation.
      Holding and pushing are two distinct offences as prescribed by Law 12. Law 12 warrants a penalty if holding starts outside and continues inside. Why is it not written down for pushing? Because it is not warranted...

      Delete
    4. Anonymous2/7/15 14:26

      Gosh.....! Where are you provincial instructor please? Hope your refereeing pupils don't have too much faith in what you instruct to them.

      Delete
    5. I agree the first PK was incorrect because it was outside the box, and it was clearly a push, not holding.
      However, I don't see what the argument is for the second one. Yes, the English player reacted dramatically to a careless foul (trip on the ankle), but it is still a careless foul in the penalty area, hence PK. It is a soft PK but also correct under LOTG.

      Delete
    6. The debate is interesting. The commenters here even with the benefit of video replay and slow motion, plus multiple angles can't seem to agree. My conclusion then is that these are very difficult decisions for the officiating team. What we then need to think about is not whether they were wrong or right, but were the officials in the best position to make the decisions. My view is that Keighley was in an excellent position for both calls, and the AR was in line for the in/ out of the area decision. If they are in the right position, they call what they see and it not helpful to second guess them unless the application of the law is clearly incorrect.

      Delete
  15. Anonymous2/7/15 10:28

    Oh how I wish that FIFA would allow referee's to be questioned after matches. Or if FIFA was to come out and admit that a referee got it wrong, that would be great also.
    In the USA, many of the professional leagues have come out before and admitted that their officials had gotten something wrong. What is bad about that? Nothing! It's great!
    Just like Jim Joyce(baseball) came out teary eyed and admitted that he messed up and took away Armando Galaraga's perfect game, I'd like to see Toedora Albon step up to the mic. Why all this secrecy from FIFA?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Interestingly, Albon's performance was not discussed at all in Germany.

      Delete
    2. Anonymous2/7/15 12:02

      It's women's football. So I am not surprised.

      Delete
  16. About the final appointments:
    It would be very unusual by FIFA to appoint a CONCACAF or AFC official for the final. There is no suitable candidate from CAF and Keighley had a semi, therefore UEFA or CONMEBOL. The latter has di Iorio and Umpierrez in the race. Di Iorio was fourth official in the semi, what could rule her out. Umpierrez is less experienced and was not convincing in her QF. But if FIFA does not want a UEFA referee again, they have to choose between these two.
    From Europe, we can exclude Steinhaus (last final + Germany in SF) and Albon (SF), probably also Frappart (4O in SF). Furthermore Mitsi, Kulcsar and Larsson did not have a K.O. match and thus are also very unlikely. This leaves Monzul, Staubli and Vitulano. The Italian is the least experienced and would be a surprise, while the other two are the favourites. I think Staubli will get the call, because Monzul had Japan in the QF and because Busacca will take the chance to appoint a Swiss, something he can rarely do in men's football...
    As someone wrote above, in this case it is unlikely to see a UEFA referee in the 3rd place match as well. So we have the two CONMEBOL ladies again, Chenard and Venegas from North America and Ri as the candidates. Difficult to make a prediction here, all five seem well possible.
    My predictions are
    Germany – England: Lucila Venegas, Mayte Chavez, Enedina Caudillo (all MEX), Hyang Ok Ri (PRK)
    USA – Japan: Esther Staubli (SUI), Ella de Vries (BEL), Lucie Ratajova (CZE), Kateryna Monzul (UKR)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 12:00

      I like and agree with your assignments. But FIFA has to include the Canadian "McRef" Chenard somewhere, So I feel that she'll be the 4th official in the final.

      Delete
    2. Just a thought on Monzul: It would be almost like Rizzoli last year. 2 group stage matches, quarterfinal of one of the final teams and then the final.
      Furthermore, both teams would be pleased with her given the good results they obtained under her.
      I nonetheless think that Staubli is the more likely candidate, too.

      Delete
    3. Anonymous3/7/15 07:12

      Ella de Vries is already sent home...

      Delete
    4. Anonymous3/7/15 07:58

      Are you sure? That does not make any sense, since Staubli's team was one of the best.

      Delete
    5. Anonymous3/7/15 23:44

      Staubli is home too

      Delete
  17. Anonymous2/7/15 12:05

    UEFA hurry!!! I can't wait for the categories!!! :-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 12:22

      Is it very likely to be unveiled today or is there just an assumption? I mean, is it possible that we eventually know them later this month?

      Delete
    2. Difficult to say, in the last years it was sometimes earlier in June, sometimes at the end of June, last year there were no changes and this became evident at the end of July. But as the committee met those days, as Collina met Batta and Dallas in Czech Rep., as Marciniak had the final under PLC's eyes....a lot supports this assumption.

      Delete
  18. Seriously, anonymouses, sign your messages. It is getting tiring to have insults thrown around by people hiding behind anonymity.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 16:33

      Dear Emil,
      a comment does not become better if one signs it with "Ref Al" for example. You are still anonymous even if you have such google account.

      Delete
    2. Emil. No worries, Anonymous is pretty easy to identify on account of his insults. He can change his name to "Marvin the Martian", "Donald Duck", etc., and that would not change his nature. :)

      Delete
  19. Anonymous2/7/15 16:42

    Big news from Italy: Referees Dino Tommasi and Sebastiano Peruzzo have been thrown out of Serie A and forced to retire.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous2/7/15 23:02

      OT: Can you tell me, when the drawing of the games in Serie A for season 2015/16 will take place?

      Delete
    2. I can answer for Anonymous: 28 July.
      Serie A will start on 22 - 23 August 2015, last matchday will be on 15 May 2016.

      Delete
    3. Anonymous3/7/15 14:13

      Thanks a lot!

      Delete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger