December 17, 2016

Janny Sikazwe selected to handle 2016 CWC Final

Janny Sikazwe has been appointed to handle the final match of the 2016 FIFA Club  World Cup, between  Real Madrid and Kashima Antlers, to be played on 18 December 2016 in Yokohama.
The Zambian will be the first African match official to take charge of an international final in a FIFA-organized tournament since Said Belqola who officiated the 1998 World Cup final between France and Brazil.

Sikazwe, a FIFA referee since 2007, will be assisted by Marwa Range from Kenya and Jerson Dos Santos from Angola. Hungarian Viktor Kassai  will serve as fourth official.

Final
18 December 2016, 11:30 CET (Yokohama)
Real Madrid CF (ESP) - 
Kashima Antlers (JPN) 
Referee: Janny Sikazwe (ZAM)
Assistant Referee 1: Aden Marwa Range (KEN)
Assistant Referee 2: Jerson Emiliano Dos Santos (ANG)
Fourth Official: Viktor Kassai (HUN)
Reserve AR: György Ring (HUN)  
VAR: Danny Makkelie (NED), Damir Skomina (SVN), Bakary Gassama (GAM) 

A few hours earlier, the third place final will be played in the same stadium, between Club América and Atlético Nacional. The referee selected by FIFA for this clash is Nawaf Shukralla (BHR), while Abdelkader Zitouni  from Tahiti will take the duties of fourth official.

Third Place Final
18 December 2016, 08:00 CET (Yokohama)
Club América  (MEX) - Atlético Nacional (COL)
Referee: Nawaf Shukralla (BHR)
Assistant Referee 1: Yaser Tulefat (BHR)
Assistant Referee 2: Taleb Al Marri (QAT) 
Fourth Official: Abdelkader Zitouni (TAH)
Reserve AR: Philippe Revel (TAH)
VAR: 

25 Comments:

  1. 85 minutes played and I find it absolutely "laughable" that Shukralla was even considered for the final. But then again, Busacca and Co. are not known for making great decisions in regards to assignments. Shukralla has shown little to no personality. He's continuously tried to talk his way out of issues. But his words seem to fall on deaf ears. Card management has been all over the place. To include a case of mistaken identity, which he fortunately corrected. And he's simply not had a clear disciplinary line set throughout the entire match.

    Based on this performance, I would have been perfectly okay with Zitouni handling the match.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. 1) At Olympia 2016, FIFA appointed some assistant referees for games in groups they were actually not allowed to officiate in due to country neutrality - FIFA had to mix some teams to correct that.

      2) FIFA is obviously unable to plan appointments for a tournament with 8 games.

      All in all, it seems as if this is either a problem related to a systematical inability to do the minimum what referee managers should be able to do or they simply do not care about what they do.

      Delete
  2. Sikazwe is really doing well, correct penalty now (first holding, then a clear block bringing the Real attacker to the ground). No need to be overruled by VARs.

    In general, very modern approach, good positioning and disciplinary control. Appears to be self-confident and assertive. Along with Gassama, Africa seems to have a good official for WC 2018 who might be on the level of the other confederations.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree with your impressions, AR2 with a correctly disallowed goal right now. So far, a good officiating without the need of VAR.

      Delete
    2. Wtf happened in the 90+1'? Ramos stopped promising attack being already booked. Sikazwe wanted to give him a second yellow card but most likely was waiting for confirmation from VAR. Some protests of Kashima players in that moment. After that, he still awarded a free kick but did not issue a 2nd YC to Ramos... Maybe in Busacca's eyes it was not SPA. In fact, there was another Real player who was in a similar distance from the ball as Kashima player. But, would the 2nd YC have been an obvious error (only such should be overruled by VAR)? I don't think so... It looked really poor.

      Delete
    3. Prior to the 3:2 goal, AR2 raised his flag quite early even though the attacker in offside was 10-20 metres away from the ball he would probably have never reached. Wait-and-see-error or acceptable flag?

      Delete
    4. Niclas. That's a good decision.
      1:risk for collision.
      2:affected the GK by running towards the ball. So in my eyes he was correctly punished for offside.

      Delete
    5. He was the only player of attacking team who was in attack (if you know what I mean), so OK flag for my taste

      https://streamable.com/2clvj

      Delete
    6. Thanks for your reply. I would add 3: He strived for the ball, there was no other attacker who could have reached the ball... and the flag somehow also stopped his run.

      Delete
    7. :)
      Thanks also for the videos.

      Delete
    8. In my opinion it was definitely a too early flag.

      Delete
    9. Too early flag, the attacker in offside position made no influence on the play or the opponent, so he should not have been punished. In theory, what if the goalkeeper kicked the ball, but due to the very strong wind it was taken back into his goal? Should the goal be dissallowed due to offside? Of course not.

      Delete
    10. If you think it was a too early flag then here is the result of what can happen if you don't call an offside in that situation. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8d4vVQqo9ms

      Delete
    11. For me the goal in the video you linked is absolutely regular. The offside is not punishable. Keeper is not influenced / challenged by the opponent for the ball. In addition, you can see that the player in offside stops his run without making a further step in trying to reach the ball. What the keeper did was not due to the offside position - never materialized.
      We can't assess an offside position, merely based on the presence of the player in offside but without any effect on the opponent.
      For this reason, I still think that the offside flag in yesterday's game was wrong, but I can even add that it was more and more questionable than the one you linked: AR2 yesterday could have waited at least for keeper's action, before raising. He didn't do that, he raised the flag when ball was still on the air and without a clear recipient. So, for me no offside, in such situations a offside is never concrete. Something must happen in order to punish a player for his position.

      Delete
  3. In 90', they spoilt it a bit. Ramos with a tactical foul / SPA already cautioned. Actually the free-kick and contact were very soft... but if you whistle, you have to send him off. Sikazwe already went to the pocket but hesitated... in the end, maybe the VARs or Kassai suggested "no card"...

    ReplyDelete
  4. Video of Sergio Ramos incident:

    https://streamable.com/g738h

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think that there was VAR intervention, Janny Sikazwe appeared really hesitating for a too long time.

      Delete
    2. It seems like that, but that would be wrong, because
      1. The VAR should only be involved in case of a clear error, and the YC was at least acceptable
      2. Second yellow cards are not an occasion for the VAR in general according to the IFAB document.

      Delete
    3. Maybe the magic button was accidentally pressed again? ;)

      http://en.as.com/en/2016/12/17/football/1481966827_624318.html

      Delete
  5. Well... I can live with no YC for the tackle, as it would have been the 2nd YC i.e. the RC. After the touch, the attacker had no ball under control, and the RM defender would have clearly gotten it first so no SPA. The contact existed, but can not be qualified as recklless, so DFK and no card.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I agree with you, it's 65%-35% for no-YC to me, but I would like to pose three questions:

      - would it have been an obvious mistake if the YC was issued (only obvious mistakes should be corrected by VAR according to IFAB)?
      - should the VAR intervene if there is something up to the referee's interpretation?
      - shouldn't it be obligatory to rewatch the incident on the screen by the referee himself if there is something up to his interpretation (like Kassai did with the penalty incident)?

      In my opinion, the only well solved incident including use of VAR at this tournament was that from Kassai's game. He watched it himself (what is more clear to players) and appeared calm and firm.

      Delete
  6. For me, it is not a YC. However, a YC could be accepted and also, if the hand goes inside the pocket then you have to show it. Even if later you withdraw it after checking with VAR. But it gives a very poor impression to see the referee's intention to caution a player and then change his mind. If you are not sure, do not put your hand into the pocket, it is confusing (and frustrating) for the players and protests will escalate quickly.

    ReplyDelete
  7. The fear is very real. The fear the referee's have to show the red card. They've been taught and coached to be overly permissive and to enforce The Laws of Games very loosely. It's gotten to the point that they end up doubting themselves when the time comes to pull cards. It's an ugly trend that I very much so dislike. Because it goes directly against the true spirit of the beautiful game. And I am further infuriated by the fact that this very same player (Ramos), seems to always get away with it no matter what competition he's playing in.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Janny Sikazwe explained it was a problem of communication between him and the assistant referee. VARs were not involved...

    https://diariomadridista.okdiario.com/futbol/2016/12/19/arbitro-sikazwe-expulso-sergio-ramos-128123

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. His "prepared" statement reeks of FIFA and Busacca involvement. It's simply a move along folks, nothing to see here statement. FIFA's finest keeping up the terrible work. In other words, just another typical day for governing body of international football.

      Delete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger