December 14, 2016

Referee Advent Calendar - Door 13: When you should not issue Yellow Cards for Stopping a Promising Attack inside the Penalty Area anymore

Half a year after the revision of the Laws of the Game, UEFA and the IFAB are considering some subsequent adaptions to the topic DOGSO / SPA. In future, stopping a promising attack inside the penalty area with the possibility and clear intention to play the ball will not be penalized with a yellow card anymore.


UEFA's Referee Committee teach their referees to refrain from issuing yellow cards for stopping promising attacks (SPA) inside the penalty area, as long as the foul originally was a genuine attempt to play the ball. The IFAB will probably follow this approach and integrate it into next year's annual meeting.

By that, the principle and sense behind the changes to DOGSO offences are extended to the area of SPA offences.

More precisely, this means:

A player who carelessly tackles an opponent inside the penalty area and thus stops a promising attack - having the possibility and showing a genuine intention to play the ball - should not be sanctioned with a yellow card on top of the penalty kick awarded anymore.

To sum it up:

1) DOGSO inside the penalty area without a genuine attempt to play the ball: Penalty & Red Card
2) DOGSO inside the penalty area with a genuine attempt to play the ball: Penalty & Yellow Card
3) SPA inside the penalty area without a genuine attempt to play the ball: Penalty & Yellow Card
4) SPA inside the penalty area with a genuine attempt to play the ball: Penalty only

Of course, if the offence is reckless, holding, pushing, pulling or a deliberate handball, stopping a promising attack inside the penalty area must still be penalized with a yellow card.

Examples of that can be found in this post or in this clip which has also been deployed by UEFA to illustrate these changes:



Related Articles: 

> Clips & Tips: DOGSO inside the penalty area
> Clips & Tips: DOGSO outside the penalty area

5 Comments:

  1. That instruction (no YC for SPA in the box) has been introduced in Polish refereeing long time ago. Zbigniew Przesmycki is a pioneer. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Admittedly, it is no completely new topic. In Germany it is handled like that in terms of goalkeepers for years as well (semi-officially at least). What is probably new is that the IFAB thinks about integrating it into the lawbook soon.

      Delete
  2. Number 1 and 2 in your sum up are identical but with different answers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. No. With / Without makes the difference.

      Delete
  3. Looks to me like the ref is 'cutting the grass' no pen until he looks over to his assistant, not a great impression left

    ReplyDelete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger