December 9, 2016

Referee Advent Calendar - Door 9: Throwing a second ball at the main ball

Door 9 contains another video example that illustrates the need to always expect the unexpected as a referee on the one hand and which curious and slapstick-like situations might happen even in your games!



One of those situations happened in the Turkish 1st league some seasons ago:



How would you decide in a) this concrete situation and b) if this specific type of offence was not made by a defending player, but the defending team's goalkeeper?

Solutions:

a) Penalty Kick & Yellow Card

In this concrete situation, the correct answer is: Penalty Kick & Yellow Card. Hitting the ball with a thrown object (boot, shinguard, etc.) is regarded as handling the ball in the Laws of the Game. As deliberately handling the ball requires a direct free-kick or a penalty kick (inside the penalty area), this also counts here.

b) Indirect Free-Kick & Yellow Card

The goalkeeper is allowed to take the ball with his hands in his own penalty area and can therefore not be penalized for deliberately handling the ball by throwing an object. However, throwing an object at the ball is clearly unsporting and must be dealt with appropriately: A yellow card must be issued and an indirect free-kick should be given.

Your responses


 

10 Comments:

  1. OT
    WCC
    Jeonbuk-Club America
    Referee: Viktor Kassai (HUN)
    AR1: György Ring (HUN)
    AR2: Vencel Tóth (HUN)
    Fourth Official (!): Nick Waldron (NZL)
    Reserve Assitant: Range Marwa (KNY)
    VARS: Danny Makkeile (NED) Damir Skomina (SVN) Bakary Gassama (GAM)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Mamelodi Sundowns - Kashima Antlers
      Referee: Roberto Garcia (MEX)
      AR1: Jose Luis Camargo (MEX)
      AR2: Alberto Morin (MEX)
      Fourth Official: Ravshan Irmatov (UZB)
      Reserve Assitant: Jerson dos Santos (ANG)
      VARS: ?

      Delete
    2. Appointment has been changed...
      http://resources.fifa.com/mm/document/tournament/competition/02/85/90/13/eng_02_1211_jbf-cfa_halftime.pdf
      :D

      Delete
    3. Who is that AR1? Never heard of him.

      Delete
    4. Mamelodi Sundowns - Kashima Antlers
      Referee: Roberto Garcia (MEX)
      AR1: Jose Luis Camargo (MEX)
      AR2: Alberto Morin (MEX)
      Fourth Official: Ravshan Irmatov (UZB)
      Reserve Assitant: Jerson dos Santos (ANG)
      VARS: Geiger (USA), Cunha (URU) Makkelie (NED)

      Delete
    5. I'm watching this game, the commentator said that in the previous two matches there weren't controversial situations, and VARs were not active.

      Delete
    6. In my opinion, this VAR experiment in Japan is basically done for political purpose. To test it in a "big" competition with all confederations involved. The real test phase will be the experience made in the biggest football leagues across the globe. 5 or 6 games at a Club World Cup won't be enough for sure.

      Delete

Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger