June 27, 2015

Champions League 2015/16 - Referee Appointments for the First Qualifying Round

Demetrios Masias of Cyprus will kick-off the new 2015/16 UEFA Champions League season. His team and the following other teams are going to officiate the eight matches of the competition's first qualifying round.


First Legs:

30/06/2015, 18:00 CET
FC Pyunik (ARM) - S.S. Folgore (SMR)
Referee: Demetrios Masias (CYP)
Assistant Referee 1: Marios Demetriades (CYP)
Assistant Referee 2: Stelios Nikita (CYP)
Fourth Official: Christos Nicolaides (CYP)
UEFA Referee Observer: Andreas Schluchter (SUI)
UEFA Delegate: Roland Tis (BEL)

30/06/2015, 20:00 CET
Lincoln Red Imps (GIB) - FC Santa Coloma (AND)
Referee: Johnny Casanova (SMR)
Assistant Referee 1: Francesco Lunardon (SMR)
Assistant Referee 2: Salvatore Tuttifrutti (ITA/SMR)
Fourth Official: Leonardo Guidi (SMR)
UEFA Referee Observer: Antonio Almeida Costa (POR)
UEFA Delegate: Steen Dahrup (DEN)

01/07/2015, 20:00 CET
B36 Tórshavn (FRO) - The New Saints (WAL)
Referee: Sven Bindels (LUX)
Assistant Referee 1: Daniel Da Costa (LUX)
Assistant Referee 2: Christophe Pires (LUX)
Fourth Official: Alex Krueger (LUX)
UEFA Referee Observer: Miroslav Vitkovic (CRO)
UEFA Delegate: Jaroslav Dudl (CZE)

30/06/2015, 20:45 CET
Crusaders FC (NIR) - Levadia Tallinn (EST)
Referee: Thorvaldur Arnason (ISL)
Assistant Referee 1: Gunnar Gunnarsson (ISL)
Assistant Referee 2: Frosti Vidar Gunnarsson (ISL)
Fourth Official: Gardar Om Hinriksson (ISL)
UEFA Referee Observer: Guy Goethals (BEL)
UEFA Delegate: Balázs Makray (HUN)

Second Legs:

07/07/2015, 18:00 CET
Levadia Tallinn (EST) - Crusaders FC (NIR)
Referee: Giorgi Kruashvili (GEO)
Assistant Referee 1: Davit Chicogidze (GEO)
Assistant Referee 2: Besik Chichinadze (GEO)
Fourth Official: Davit Kharitonashvili (GEO)
UEFA Referee Observer: Tony Asumaa (FIN)
UEFA Delegate: Per Svärd (SWE)

07/07/2015, 20:00 CET
The New Saints (WAL) - B36 Tórshavn (FRO)
Referee: Ville Nevalainen (FIN)
Assistant Referee 1: Ville Koskiniemi (FIN)
Assistant Referee 2: Marko Hänninen (FIN)
Fourth Official: Mattias Gestranius (FIN)
UEFA Referee Observer: Eugen Strigel (GER)
UEFA Delegate: Ronny Zimmermann (GER)

07/07/2015, 20:00 CET
FC Santa Coloma (AND) - Lincoln Red Imps (GIB)
Referee: Roomer Tarajev (EST)
Assistant Referee 1: Hannes Reinvald (EST)
Assistant Referee 2: Jaanus Mutli (EST)
Fourth Official: Eiko Saar (EST)
UEFA Referee Observer: Elmir Pilav (BIH)*
UEFA Delegate: Dag Steinar Vestlund (NOR)

07/07/2015, 20:30 CET
S.S. Folgore (SMR) - FC Pyunik (ARM)
Referee: Ignasi Villamayor Rozados (AND)
Assistant Referee 1: Hugo Ricardo Jourdan Pereira (AND)
Assistant Referee 2: Manuel Antonio Nogueira Fernandes (AND)
Fourth Official: Robert González Salvado (AND)
UEFA Referee Observer: Pjetur Sigurdsson (ISL)
UEFA Delegate: Kurt Zuppinger (SUI)

* former FIFA referee, Bosnian Elmir Pilav (photo) functions as UEFA Referee Observer from now on. Aged only 34, he is probably the youngest of all observers.


  1. Anonymous27/6/15 19:29

    Igor Pristovnik (1975) and Vlado Svilokos (1968) are new observers from Croatia.

    1. Anonymous27/6/15 20:03

      Why did Pristovnik retire?

    2. Anonymous27/6/15 23:21

      He got a function in Referees Committee. He is chief officer for development of refereeing in Croatia and also he is chief responsible for UEFA convention in Croatia.

  2. Italian observers for 2015-16 and 2016-17 are:
    Livio Bazzoli
    Stefano Braschi
    Stefano Farina
    Domenico Messina
    Marcello Nicchi
    Roberto Rosetti
    Alfredo Trentalange
    Matteo Simone Trefoloni

    Bolognino was removed from the list.

    1. Anonymous27/6/15 20:00

      Collina must also be on the list. Only former referees, no former ARs?

    2. Collina can't be in this list, otherwise he would be a "normal observer" from Italian federation. He can't do that because he is the Head of UEFA Referees Committee. So, when he is appointed as observer he goes to stadium under these credentials.
      And yes, you are right, no former ARs. Honestly, I don't know why for that.

  3. Anonymous27/6/15 19:59

    What does "Salvatore Tuttifrutti (ITA/SMR)" mean?

    1. Anonymous27/6/15 20:05

      Dual nationality?

    2. Anonymous27/6/15 20:11

      Maybe... but can he be on both ITA and SMR refereeing lists?

    3. His nationality is Italian but he is listed as an assistant referee of San Marino's national association.

    4. Like many officials working for San Marino referees association, he is Italian by nationality but now he is in San Marino panels.
      Well, to be honest there are many cases, you should know that also Francesco Lunardon and Leonardo Guidi are Italian by birth. Lunardon, before San Marino experience, was an Italian official.
      It would be a particular and long speech to discuss about that, actually San Marino is the only federation who has not problems in accepting that, but for me it is not really nice. They should represent their country but in fact they "use" the federation just to have a badge... this of course it's also because there are not so many local referees in the small Republic of San Marino.

  4. Anonymous27/6/15 21:14

    According to local news (COPE), former FIFA referee Fernando Teixeira Vitienes has been demoted from La Liga, as has been his brother José Antonio. Because they will be 44 and 45 next season, they will both retire. Official confirmation from RFEF-CTA should be published next week.

  5. Anonymous27/6/15 21:18

    In that case, it should be "Salvatore Tuttifrutti (SMR)".
    Regarding Collina, when did he become the chairman of the UEFA Referee Committee? I thought that the chairman is Angel Villar and Collina is the Chief Refereeing Officer.

    1. Even UEFA lists him as (ITA).

    2. Anonymous27/6/15 23:02

      How about the FIFA list? Is he listed for Italy or San Marino?

    3. He is not in the FIFA list.

  6. You are right, I used a wrong term.

  7. Anonymous27/6/15 21:33

    Luciano Luci is Ukraine observer and he is Italian birth

  8. Anonymous27/6/15 21:38

    Where is the Referees Committee composition on the UEFA website? Could someone post the link to the current list?

    1. Anonymous27/6/15 21:42


      page 9

      Referees Committee
      Commission des arbitres
      Chairman: Angel María Villar Llona (Spain)
      Deputy Chairman: Şenes Erzik (Turkey)
      Chief Refereeing Officer: Pierluigi Collina
      Refereeing Officers: Marc Batta
      Hugh Dallas
      bers: Members: Dagmar Damková (Czech Republic)
      David R. Elleray (England)
      Herbert Fandel (Germany)
      Bo Karlsson (Sweden)
      Nikolay Levnikov (Russia)
      Jozef Marko (Slovakia)
      Vladimir Sajn (Slovenia)
      Jaap Uilenberg (Netherlands)
      Kurt Zuppinger (Switzerland)

      But in a few days we should have the new one (2015-17)

    2. Anonymous30/6/15 17:45

      Usually, it was available on the committees page on uefa.org. How do you navigate from the main uefa.org page to multimedia files if, let's say, you do not know the direct link?

      Any news on the new committees?

  9. Anonymous28/6/15 12:40

    When will you publish EL appointments?

  10. Anybody knows the full list of the referees appointed for the incoming CONCACAF Gold Cup in USA ?

    1. Anonymous29/6/15 16:46

      Sonia Denoncourt knows

    2. http://www.proreferees.com/news-eight-pro-officials-selected-for-gold-cup.php

      The US and Canada referees are here.


Copyright © . The 3rd Team
Theme Template by BTDesigner · Powered by Blogger